Florida Insurance Laws You May Not Know About
Florida law requires residents to have auto insurance. You must purchase the minimum coverage amounts for both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance and Property Damage Liability (PDL) auto insurance.
Fortunately, Florida offsets these coverage requirements by offering some of the lowest auto insurance minimums in the country.
Florida is a no-fault insurance state, meaning that if you are (God forbid) injured in an accident, your auto insurance will pay your medical costs up to the limits of your policy, regardless of who caused the accident.
The minimum limits for Florida auto insurance coverage are:
• $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
• $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) insurance.
PIP (Personal Injury Protection)
In addition to covering your part of any medical expenses and income losses that result from an auto accident (again, God forbid), your Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, will also cover:
• Passengers in your car who do not have their own PIP insurance and do not own a car.
• You (if you are a bicyclist or pedestrian involved in an auto accident).
• Your child (when riding a school bus).
PDL (Property Damage Liability)
The PDL portion of your auto policy in Florida will cover you for damages YOU cause in an auto accident to someone else’s property, such as buildings or homes.
Penalties, Fines, and Violations
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires that they be notified by your insurance company electronically if your auto insurance policy has been cancelled.
If the DHSMV has no record of a current auto insurance policy for you, you will be notified by mail. The notification will inform you of a date of your license being suspended. If you are not able to provide proof of insurance to the DHSMV before the suspension date, your driver’s license, plates, and registration will all be suspended.
To reinstate these, you will have to provide proof of Florida insurance and pay a fee of:
• $150 for first offense.
• $250 for second offense.
• $500 for each offense after.
If you are able to provide the DHSMV with proof of Florida insurance before the suspension date, you will not face any penalties.
If you no longer own the automobile, surrender your plates and registration to the Florida DHSMV to avoid your driver’s license being suspended.
It is important to know the insurance laws of the state that your reside in order to prevent a potential hefty penalty or fine. For more information contact your insurance agent or the florida DMV at https://www.flhsmv.gov.